The Wii Shop Channel, the original Nintendo Wii’s store, will be closing its doors forever on January 31, 2019 at 3 p.m. JST/ 5 p.m. AEDT/ 1 a.m. EDT/ 6 a.m. GMT/January 30, 10 p.m. PST.

As noted by Gematsu, in preparation for the service shutting down, users will no longer be able to add Wii Points to their account as of March 27, 2018 at 5 a.m. JST/ 7 a.m. AEDT/March 26, 1 .p.m PDT/ 4 .p.m EDT/ 9pm BST.

Following the closure of the Wii Shop Channel, Wii users will still be able to re-download anything they’ve already purchased, as well as transfer their content from Wii to Wii U using the Wii System Transfer, but these services will also be shutting down at some point in the future as well after the closure of the Channel. Following that, all content will remain playable unless it’s removed from the console, at which point it will be permanently lost.

This is the latest announcement from Nintendo regarding the shuttering of the Wii family; it recently announced that Miiverse would be shutting down in November, and production of the Wii U ended at the beginning of this year.

Nintendo’s console focus is, of course, on the Nintendo Switch, which has yet to see the launch of a paid online service after such a system was delayed into 2018.

SHARE