In the wake of the completion of Destiny 2‘s first Faction Rally, Bungie has announced a slew of additions coming to the game next week; of particular note is the first Iron Banner event for Destiny 2, featuring the return of Lord Saladin as overseer of the Banner.

The Iron Banner retains broadly the same approach as in the previous game, but with a few significant changes. Combat will now be between two teams of four players, and level advantages have been removed, making combat about the ability of the players rather than the level they’ve reached. In addition, the previous system of Bounties and Ranks have been replaced by a specific Iron Banner Engram.

The first Iron Banner event will run October 10-17 – exact timings are available on Bungie’s original post.

The first Prestige Raid has also been announced, featuring a souped-up version of the Leviathan Raid. Bungie are clear in their update that they “do not expect everyone to be successful”, reaffirming that the Prestige Raid is intended more as a challenge than a progression booster, but that there will be rewards. They also promise that “World First will be counted”, but don’t give any further details. The Raid goes live Tuesday October 10 at 10am PDT / 1pm EDT / 6pm BST / Wednesday October 11, 4am AEST.

As a final note, Bungie has announced it will be taking part in a special stream as part of TwitchCon, discussing the concept of “seasons” in Destiny 2 and going into more detail about how the seasonal system will work, specifically what will change from season to season and an expected start date for Season 2.

Destiny 2 is available now for PS4 and Xbox One, and will arrive on PC Tuesday, October 24.

SHARE